• Date of Birth: 17 October 1948

Current Positions
  • Minister of Correctional Services of the Republic of South Africa.
  • Serves in the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the African National Congress (ANC) since 1991 to date.
  • Chancellor of the University of Zululand.
Academic Qualifications
  • Attended Primary school at Makhaseneni near Melmoth.
  • Secondary school at Entembeni Secondary School and matriculated from Eshowe Teachers' Training and High School (1968).
  • Studied Library Science at the University of Zululand (1970 - 1972).
  • Bachelor of Arts degree in International Politics and African Politics from University of South Africa (1983)
  • Bachelor of Arts (honours degree) with distinction in Development Administration and Politics (1985).

Career/Positions/Memberships/Other Activities
  • Appointed Publicity Secretary of SASO for the University of Zululand (1972).
  • Worked as Assistant Librarian at the University of the North (1973-1974).
  • Joined the African National Congress (ANC) underground and went into exile in Swaziland (1974-1976).
  • Worked as Assistant Librarian at University of Swaziland (1974-1976).
  • Was arrested for ANC activities in May 1976 and was sentenced to ten years on Robben Island in June 1977.
  • Served in the Education Development Trust with the late Dr. Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri (1980-1994).
  • Played a key role in peace initiatives in KwaZulu-Natal since 1987.Regional Secretary of the ANC for Southern Natal (1990-1996).
  • Director in the Office of Residence Administration: University of Durban-Westville (1991-1994).
  • Member of the ANC KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Executive Committee and Provincial Working Committee (1994-2008).
  • Deputy Chairperson of the ANC in KwaZulu-Natal (1996-1998).
  • Chairperson of the ANC in KwaZulu-Natal (1998-2008).
  • Actively involved in the University Christian Movement and later with the South African Students Organisation (SASO).
  • Worked at the archives at the Lutheran Church Centre at Maphumulo.
  • Research fellow at University of Natal's Department of Town and Regional Planning.
  • Founder and Chairperson of the African Renaissance Trust in KwaZulu-Natal.
  • MEC for Transport in KwaZulu-Natal (1994-2004).
  • Premier of KwaZulu-Natal (2004-2009).
  • Minister of Transport of the Republic of South Africa (2009-12 June 2012).

Positions last held/Career/Memberships/Other Activities
  • Received COMTO award for continuous support of African Renaissance at the Transportation African-Renaissance Awards in the USA (2000).
  • Honorary Doctorate from the University of Zululand (2005).